Georgia DUI Penalties

Georgia DUI Penalties

Note: You could be sentenced to a year in jail and fined up to $1,000.00 for any dui that you are found guilty of or plea guilty to. What you really want to know is what you are likely to be sentenced to. Below is an estimated approximate sentence based upon a the current trend of metro Atlanta courts.

An in-depth interview with a DUI Lawyer may suggest a greatly different estimated sentence.

Penalties 1st DUI in a 10 year period 2nd DUI in a 10 year period 3 or more DUI’s in 10 year period
Jail Time 24 Hrs is typical in most  courts 72 Hrs to 10 days is typical 15 days to 60 days on a 3 rd. One year for 4 or more
Community Service 40 hrs is the minimum and is also the typical 30 days is the minimum and is also the typical 30 days is the minimum and is the typical
Fines * $750.00 to $1,000.00 $750.00 to $1,000.00 $1,000.00 to $5,000.00
DUI School ** Needed to get your Driver’s License Back Needed to get your Driver’s License Back Needed to get your HV Permit and Driver’s License Back
Alcohol Rehab *** Evaluation and treatment if you neet it. Evaluation and treatment if you need it. Evaluation and treatment if you need it.
Inter-lock device **** Probably Not Yes Yes
Probation Yes (one year) Yes (one year) Yes (one year)
Driver’s License Suspension One Year. Possible early reinstatement after 120 days. Possible work permit.No permit for CDL for one year. Three Years. Possible early reinstatement after 18 months. No permit for 12 Months.CDL suspended for life. Five Years. No permit for at least 24 Months.CDL suspended for life.
Declared Habitual Violator Possible with other convictions Possible with other convictions YES
Picture Published in Local Paper No Yes Yes

*DUI fines have five or six add-ons for various organizations as provided by law. The above estimated fines do not have these various add-ons added in. Virtually all courts assess these add-ons. However, most courts have probation, which will accommodate monthly payments on your fines.

* *Whether the DUI school is made of part of the sentence of the court or not really doesn’t really matter, the law requires you attend DUI school for any DUI conviction in order to get your driver’s license re-instated.

***With a second or more DUI in a 10-year period, you must attend a Department of Human Resources approved Evaluator for Alcohol and Drug Addiction and complete whatever treatment that is suggested in order to get your driver’s license re-instated. This is a requirement of the state law whether the court orders it or not.

****With a second or more DUI in a 10-year period, you must attend a Department of Human Resources approved Evaluator for Alcohol and Drug Addiction and complete whatever treatment that is suggested in order to get your driver’s license re-instated. This is a requirement of the state law whether the court orders it or not.

*****Georgia law now requires 12 months minimum probation on any DUI. That means at least 12 months. The first 12 months cannot be terminated early.

A fourth (4th) DUI in a 10-year period in Georgia in felony.

Attorney at Law - Jim Whitlock - "The Godfather"