Alcohol Drug Risk Reduction Program
The Georgia DUI, Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
The Department of Driver Services (DDS) regulates the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program (RRP) also more commonly referred to as DUI schools. This is an intervention program mandated by law for people convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI), possession of illegal drugs, underage possession of alcohol while operating a motor vehicle, or Boating Under the Influence (BUI).
What is a DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Course?
A course designed to focus on changing the actual drinking and drug use behavior of the individual. It is required for all those who have received a DUI, or possession of illegal drugs or controlled substance conviction.
How do I know the school has been approved?
Click here for a list of approved schools or consult the Yellow pages under Driving Instruction.
What is the cost of a DUI, Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program?
The course is composed of two components. Schools must charge $82.00 for the Assessment Component, $190.00 for the Intervention Component and an additional $20.00 Materials Fee. The total cost of the course is $292.00.
How long is the course?
The Assessment Component takes most individuals 1/2-hour to one-hour to complete. The Intervention Component class is 20-hours long.
I was 5 minutes late and the instructor would not allow me to attend the class. Can they do that?
Yes. Schools are required to deny entrance to any student that is not on time for the beginning of each class or late returning from breaks.
Can I get a refund from the school if I’m unable to attend the class or if I was denied entrance because I was late?
Most schools will not issue refunds. They may allow you to attend another class.
Can I attend a course via the Internet?
No. DDS only accepts classroom instruction at a certified school for the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program requirement.
What is a clinical evaluation?
The evaluation process designated by the Georgia Department of Behavioral Health & Developemental Disabilities, which is used to diagnose an individual’s substance abuse and/or dependence and, if indicated, refer the individual to appropriate treatment.. See www.mop.uga.edu for more information.
Who has to have a clinical evaluation for license reinstatement?
Effective July 1, 2008, clinical evaluation and possible treatment is required for anyone with two (2) or more DUI convictions in ten (10) years. Refer to www.mop.uga.edu for more information. Note: A court may order clinical evaluation with a first DUI, but court ordered evaluation for a first DUI has no impact on licensing.
What happens if I have more than one DUI within five years in Georgia?
You must undergo a clinical evaluation and possible treatment. Refer to www.mop.uga.edu for more information.
What happens if I have more than one DUI within ten years in Georgia?
Effective July 1, 2008, clinical evaluation and possible treatment is required for anyone with two (2) or more DUI convictions in ten (10) years. Refer to www.mop.uga.edu for more information.
What happens if I now live out of state and have to clear up my Georgia license?
You should contact 678-413-8400 to determine whether the program in the state you are now living is approved and accepted by Georgia.
How do I get my license reinstated?
In most cases, you will need to provide the original Certificate of Completion from an approved DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program and a reinstatement fee. Because there may be other outstanding issues, you should contact 678-413-8400 for information specific to your driver license.
What if I lose my Certificate of Completion?
You must contact the school you attended and request a replacement certificate of completion. The school may charge a fee up to $20.00 for a Risk Reduction Replacement certificate.
If I experience problems with a Defensive Driving School, instructor or course, what can I do?
All complaints relating to Defensive Driving Schools or Instructors must be made in writing on the Regulatory Compliance Complaint Form. The completed form may be faxed or mailed to us. Click here for complaint form and submission instructions.
If I would like to open a DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program or become a DUI instructor, how do I apply?
Application materials for a new DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program and instructor and director applications are available on-line. Click here for the online applications(s).
Alcohol Drug Risk Reduction Program better known as DUI schools. Visit Website